Planning Commission


The Box Elder County Planning Commission consists of seven members who are residents of Box Elder County and owners of real property within the County.  The authority of the Planning Commission is outlined in the Box Elder County Land Use Management & Development Code, Article 2: Administration & Enforcement.

The members of the Planning Commission serve without compensation and are appointed for a term of three years (staggered) and may be reappointed for successive terms by the County Commission.  Four members of the Planning Commission constitute a quorum for the purpose of holding a meeting.  The decisions of the Planning Commission take effect on the date of the meeting or hearing when the decision is made unless an alternative date is agreed upon by the Planning Commissioners.


Typically the Planning Commission meets on the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the County Commission Chambers of the Historic Courthouse, 01 South Main Street, Brigham City, Utah 84302.  On occasion, this meeting may be scheduled for the fourth Thursday due to holidays or other activities that may conflict with the third Thursday (e.g., the County Fair).

The Planning Commission meetings are recorded and transcribed by the Department Secretary and those minutes are usually available within two weeks following the meeting.  Citizens may access those minutes on our website or request a hard copy from the Community Development office by calling 435-734-3354. 

Current Planning Commission Members

  • Planning Commission Members: Mellonee Wilding (Chair), Jed Pugsley (Vice Chair), Bonnie Robinson, Jared Holmgren, Jennifer Jacobsen, and  Lonnie Jensen 
  • Alternates: Vance Smith

Click here to view our meeting agendas, commission packets and minutes 

2024 Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

Utah Public Notices Website